the frenetic.

With crude (the word here is doing double duty– it’s unsavory and also chicken-scratchy) drawings and a feel similar to that of Ren and Stimpy, this blog is far from the cashmere-drenched, pantone-color-referencing, chevron-striped-lucite-tray-admiring blogs I normally frequent. But it’s seriously funny in its ADD/rationally irrational way, and people love it.

Hyperbole and a Half is a kind of web comic. The brilliant creator behind the jagged little people is Allie Brosh, and she posts a hybrid of drawings/journal entries about imagined scenarios, memories from her childhood, and various thought processes in which she quickly spins far (FAR) out of control. I try to avoid using this word (because HOW mind-numbing is it when something happens and the person next to you says “well, that was random.” Unless it actually was a statistically unusual occurrence, please say something (anything!) less throw-away. It’s kind of like how “awkward” was used to describe 95% of situations about 5 years ago), but the blog’s humor is (statistically, unusually) random.

If you’ve seen this site before, chances are you’ve been forwarded This is Why I’ll Never Be an Adult. In this entry, Allie attempts to become a real adult who takes care of her responsibilities and does all the grownup things like going to the bank, cooking wholesome meals, and paying bills.

I won’t spoil it for you, but it’s far from a painless process for her. Here’s a snippet from the middle of the post–

“The longer I procrastinate on returning phone calls and emails, the more guilty I feel about it.  The guilt I feel causes me to avoid the issue further, which only leads to more guilt and more procrastination.  It gets to the point where I don’t email someone for fear of reminding them that they emailed me and thus giving them a reason to be disappointed in me.

Then the guilt from my ignored responsibilities grows so large that merely carrying it around with me feels like a huge responsibility.  It takes up a sizable portion of my capacity, leaving me almost completely useless for anything other than consuming nachos and surfing the internet like an attention-deficient squirrel on PCP.”

I’ve never likened myself to a squirrel and I just had to google PCP, but I certainly can relate to that guilty email response spiral.

This blog is great for a laugh, and I don’t think too many people would find it to be too much. My threshold for vulgar is very (primly, unfunly) low, and I enjoy the site a lot.

(drawings obviously from Hyperbole and a Half)

4 thoughts on “the frenetic.

  1. I look forward to my daily blog dose from you. This one is funny, if a little bit depressing. I imagine she would be pretty hilarious in person. Keep them coming!
    phdcomics.com is a pretty funny take on graduate school, BTW.

  2. This is my favorite post you’ve done so far! The description is spot on and I love the way you juxtapose it’s crudeness to the blogs you more regularly visit. Also, I’ve started reading justlittlethings because you!

Comments make my day. So whatdya think?

