the fashiony-feminist-fireball.

I have yet to meet a girl who wishes she looked just like Katy Perry. I have yet to meet a boy who doesn’t wish she were his girlfriend. There seems to be a disconnect. Today’s blog exposes and exploits that divide, and it posits that the clothes that are most attractive to women are the least attractive to men. Leandra Medine started The Man Repeller in April of 2010, and in these short 18 months she has become one of the biggest names in the industry and has earned her front-and-center seats at fashion weeks around the world.

Famous for saying “If I have to give up good fashion for a relationship, I don’t want a relationship,” Medine wears clothes that both appeal to her and typically turn off prospective suitors. Basically, to be “girl pretty,” you have to be “guy gross.” Medine’s definition for man repelling is as follows: “outfitting oneself in a sartorially offensive way that will result in repelling members of the opposite sex. Such garments include but are not limited to harem pants, boyfriend jeans, overalls (see: human repelling), shoulder pads, full length jumpsuits, jewelry that resembles violent weaponry and clogs.”

She can be crude (don’t believe me? click here. but don’t unless you’re someone who needs visual proof. I wish I could unsee it.), and I don’t check in with her too often, but she’s a household name in the blog world (and apparently a new face for Calypso? Seems a somewhat gutsy marketing move for their company). And again, the next time cocktail conversation takes a turn for the serious, you don’t want to be the ignorant one.

(Photos via The Man Repeller)

7 thoughts on “the fashiony-feminist-fireball.

  1. Hmm… I understand her point to a degree – maybe floaty dresses and Ugg boots are “man repellers”, though I don’t know if she would count those as high fashion. I think there is a very insular world of uber fashion where the clothes are often unwearable and ugly and in those instances, I would agree with the men! Please don’t bring back harem pants and overalls, ever.

  2. I have a love-hate relationship with The Manrepeller. It’s addicting yet sometimes too sarcastic and crude for my taste. Somehow I keep coming back because in the end, I agree that there are some clothes that I love but members of the opposite sex will never understand.

Comments make my day. So whatdya think?

