the thoughtful tunes.

Today’s site would have come in very handy between the years of 1999 and 2005 when I invested great time and effort in crafting the perfect AIM profile. Which quotes/snippets of inside jokes/sports team shout-outs/fonts would make me seem like an appealing instant messenger? I remember combing different quote websites at great length to find something profound but not stuffy: a quote that encompassed my life ideology (as a complex 13 year old) but one that was not yet tired or trite (“Dance like no one is watching, love like you’ll never be hurt” was not an option. Neither was “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” The worst one? “A good friend will come bail you out of jail, but a true friend will be sitting next to you saying ‘Damn…that was fun'” I hate that message. <—further evidence of me being prim and unfun).

Not only did the quote’s content have to be good, but its origin also mattered (guess the popularity of Chinese character tattoos further supports this). The coolest place to get your quote? From the lyric of a song by a band whose general message also reflected your personal vibe. It was hard. This site could have helped.

Lyrics To Live By is a Tumblr that posts every few days with an inspirational/cool lyric. Here’s a collection.

Don’t particularly love this quote below, but I saw Noah and the Whale a couple weeks ago (and they were great!), and I wanted to include it:

The site also goes to show that a pretty cliche quote only needs a bit of celebrity endorsement to seem cool. Kanye as example:

The Tumblr isn’t huge, so I can’t guarantee that your favorite artist will be featured on it, but it’s fun to poke around, and hopefully you can find your personality defining lyric on it.

(images via Lyrics To Live By)

6 thoughts on “the thoughtful tunes.

  1. And then there were the perfectly crafted away messages where a quote from your favorite band managed to perfectly describe whether you were on the phone or taking a shower. Yup, this would have definitely come in handy then.

  2. I can completely related to the AIM profile/away message discussion. It was so crucial for displaying the utmost level of “cool” haha

  3. hmmm…conflicted on this one. Much like I resent the digital music age because it rendered useless my years of hard work in crafting my collection and buying whole CDs for just one gem of a song, I’m a little put off that today’s generation can just draw up any music lyric they want on a whim. We used to have to, you know, know the songs. But I’ll get over myself.
    Do agree there’s nothing better than the lyric that looks cool to everyone but whose true meaning is only recognized by someone.

Comments make my day. So whatdya think?

