the sweetie.

My blog all about blogs could be a blog just about food blogs. It could actually be a blog all about gluten-free/vegan/raw/sustainable/local food blogs. There are a gajillion sites about food, and just in case you can’t get to them all, here is one that I consider one of the (sugary, as that is my preference 100 times over) cream (cheese icing) of the crop.

Joy the Baker cooked up her mouthwateringly good site in 2008 and since then has offered the web sweet treats every few days. The ones that are getting me going this morning?

Peanut Butter Fudge Treats. Gah, I want one (well, if I’m being honest, seven) now.

Red Velvet Black and White Cookies. YUM.

Lemon Drenched Raspberry Bread, you know, for something healthy.

Her recipe archives are immense (look here to see what I mean), and I feel like I want to take on a Julie & Julia-like project to try to make that entire list. What sets Joy’s blog above the rest (for me, at least) is her incorporation of lifestyle writing in with the food. Joy the Baker is not only about recipes, and while technical detail required in a blog about how to cook and bake things is there, each post is very human and gives the reader a peek into Joy’s life. She lives in LA with her cat (and makes being a cat lady a total rockstar thing) and has a great group of quirky friends. She hosts frequent dinner parties. She loves the color navy and reads books in bed with a headlamp. In these personal snippets, it becomes apparent that the incredible confections Joy bakes are rivaled only by her writing, and her site’s biggest draw is that humorous, self-deprecating style.

Clearly other people think she’s gold, as she has been called Saveur’s Best Baking and Dessert Blog, Bloggies’ and Foodbuzz’s Best Food Blog, and one of the Top Fifty Food Blogs in the World by the London Times. A big three years of baking (and she won’t admit how many pounds) for Joy!

(Images via Joy the Baker)

9 thoughts on “the sweetie.

  1. I love looking at the mouth watering food blogs but I never end up making the recipes. They make me just hungry enough to go out and buy something similar. That might have to change with these amazing treats. I love how she combines three of my favorites: fudge, peanut butter and rice krispies. Yum!

  2. I need to check Joy’s blog out ~ as a self-proclaimed “food and lifestyle” blogger, she sounds like an excellent role model! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. I had an awesome black and white cookie at Saladelia last week that I can’t stop thinking about. Do you think the red velvet ones will compare favorably? I must admit I don’t understand the allure of red food coloring….

  4. Pingback: the joy squared. | hrck the herald

Comments make my day. So whatdya think?

