the glitter project.

As I mentioned last week, I don’t have the patience for most DIY projects. The idea of buying the necessary supplies (which are always sold in quantities far larger than what’s needed for the project and therefore sit, unused, taking up the space that I don’t have in my house), devoting an afternoon to crafting, and most likely ending up with a clearly homemade and most likely soon-to-fall-apart product does not appeal to me. That being said, this project can be done with only two things from a craft store, and I think I could handle it.

Steph and Trist of Le Fanciulle made these boots with glitter and craft glue. I can do that. Here’s what the shoes look like, and here’s their golden step-by-step (which is wonderfully short!).

If flats are more your thing, the girls of the Boston-based cooking/craft blog, We Are Not Martha, did a take on these pretty and pricey Kate Spade flats:

With a pair of cheap-o plain flats, Modge Podge, glitter, and glaze (a few more components than the booties, but still a manageable list for the craft store frugal), they made these ones. Here’s their tutorial: Make Your Own Glitter Flats.

I’m planning to pick up an inexpensive pair of booties and dust my heels with gold glitter (though making sparkly shoes out of these from Target would be cute too?). I wish I’d done them right after Thanksgiving for all this month’s holiday parties, but better late than never!

(Images via Pinterest, Le Fanciulle, and We Are Not Martha)

5 thoughts on “the glitter project.

  1. Oh my gosh, I love this post! I am exactly the same as you when it comes to DIY’s-I don’t want those extra craft supplies taking up room in my tiny space! But those glitter flats are gorgeous, I actually like them better than the Kate Spades! I really have to try that, it looks like it might even be fun.

Comments make my day. So whatdya think?

