the horse and hound.

(I don’t love Notting Hill, but Hugh Grant’s panic-induced flub re: writing for Horse & Hound in order to speak with Julia Roberts is one of the funnier parts)

I came across these photographs the other day, and they certainly caught my eye. They’re done by Swedish photographer Ulrika Kestere, and they’re based on a fairy tale about a young girl whose laundry flies away. The responsible girl embarks on a journey to track down her various garments, and she discovers that they’ve taken on a life of their own. Here are some of the photographs.

Honestly…I’m not a fan. I think the idea is cool, but I think the visual would be better done with an illustrator or one’s imagination. These pictures creep me out a bit. It looks like colorful roadkill. Am I the lone naysayer? You can read more about the project and see more of the photos on Kestere’s blog, here.

For something I completely enjoy (and for the second part of the post’s title), there’s Maddie the Coonhound. Described as a “super serious project about dogs and physics,” the site is a collection of pictures of Maddie (my dear old dog’s name, too) in funny places, poised on strange things, and just generally being a good spot.

Check all the pictures of Maddie on things out here.

7 thoughts on “the horse and hound.

  1. Your Maddie wouldn’t have been too good at those climbing tricks – she didn’t like being lifted up on to the table at the vet !
    Oh for the days of hanging out laundry – it always smelled so fresh.

  2. I can’t believe you don’t like Notting Hill. Hugh Grant casually reading in that sunny park at the end while holding hands with his peaceful pregnant wife is all I want from my life.

  3. ‘my dear old dog” – YES, YOU DID WANT HER SO BADLY, BUT THEN YOU WERE SO EXCEEDINGLY GENEROUS BEING WILLING TO SHARE HER WITH EVERYONE, ALLOWING OTHERS TO WALK HER, FEED HER, CLEAN UP AFTER HER, TAKE HER TO THE VET OR KENNEL, ETC.

  4. My laundry does seem to take on a life of its own, multiplying and spilling all over the place. I wish it would be kind enough to form itself into amusing shapes.

Comments make my day. So whatdya think?

