the music guide.

(this went up accidentally last week…sorry if it’s the second time around for you!)

Embarrassingly, I’m guilty of making playlists to prompt me into certain mindsets, i.e. “Eeeee so giddyhappy!!” or “So.Over.It.” That order is not significant.

I came across this chart the other day, and I thought it was pretty cool. As you can see, it gives you songs to suit your sentiment. I know it only lists one song, but if you use Pandora (am I holding on to the Stone Age by using that still? Has it become Spotify or bust?), you could type in the feeling’s song and then see if it properly populates afterwards.

The Ingrid Michaelson one is featured in Like Crazy, a movie that I was beside myself in anticipation to see. Like, excitement levels that have only been precedented by the Keira Knightley Pride and Prejudice (Catherine and I made it the carrot at the end of our college application essay stick for MONTHS, only to discover on the date that the date to which we had been counting down only referred to the New York and L.A. release. I remember it as one of the biggest letdowns of my life, though it was nowhere near as bad as when my mom promised me a Coke if I climbed to the top of the mountain on an EXTREMELY long hike with my family in Canada. When we reached the summit, the little snack shack only had unpasteurized goat’s milk. I think that really drilled in the “life’s not fair” message).

Anyway, I *know * that “the movie is never as good as the book” is a thing people say for good reason, but my feelings regarding Pride and Prejudice were like those of Mindy Kaling (girl crush supreme)’s:

“I’m the kind of person who would rather get my hopes up really high and watch them get dashed to pieces rather than wisely keep my expectations at bay and hope they are exceeded. This quality has made me a needy and theatrical friend, but it has given me a spectacularly dramatic emotional life.”

I don’t really think that applies to me in general (those who know me in real life, feel free to tell me I’m wrong and indeed a total rollercoaster of a friend :)), but it did for KK’s Pride and Prejudice and then for Like Crazy.  My high expectations proved misplaced, and both movies, for different reasons, left me disappointed. The best thing in Like Crazy is the Ingrid Michaelson song though, so from what I can tell from this emotional song guide, it shouldn’t be a letdown as well. 🙂

Happy Mood-Appropriate Listening!

(Image via Wit + Delight)

3 thoughts on “the music guide.

Comments make my day. So whatdya think?